CICA 2013 Corporate Reporting Awards – Winners

5 December 2013

By Contributor



cica-logoLast night some us at Q4 attended Canada?s Corporate Reporting Awards (CRA) at the historic Royal York Hotel, in downtown Toronto. My colleague Catherine Crofton (who is now in her 12th year as judge) and I (in my 6th year as a judge) reviewed quite a few websites for the Electronic Disclosure category. The venue was amazing and there were a lot of repeat winners from last year in all categories!

The CRA is in its 62nd year and presents awards for excellence in financial reporting, corporate governance disclosure, electronic disclosure and sustainable development reporting to companies listed on the TSX and to federal Crown corporations.? Separate excellence and honorable mention awards are also presented to reports that are judged to be the best, regardless of industry sector, in each of these four judging areas.? Lastly, among the industry winners, one company is given the overall award of excellence for corporate reporting.

A lot of the companies were repeat winners from last year and Q4 would like to take this opportunity to extend our congratulations all of them!

Of note, we are particularly proud of GoldCorp (one of our clients) who received an Honourable Mention in the electronic disclosure category.

Now on to the winners:

Awards of Excellence for Large and Small Federal Crown Corporations:

Large Crown winner ? CBC/Radio-Canada
Small Crown winner ? Defence Construction Canada
Provincial Crown winner ? SaskTel

Awards of Excellence for Corporate Reporting: Industry winners (many are repeat winners from 2012):

Clean Technology ? Capstone Infrastructure Corporation
Communications & Media ? TELUS Corporation (2012 winner)
Consumer Products ? Canadian Tire Corporation, Limited (2012 winner)
Diversified Industries ? Stantec
Financial Services ? Royal Bank of Canada
Industrials & Energy ? Bombardier Inc.
Mining ? PotashCorp (2012 winner)
Oil & Gas ? Suncor Energy
Utilities & Pipelines/Real Estate ? Enbridge Inc. (2012 winner)
Small Cap/Venture ? Catalyst Paper Corporation

These industry winners received the highest average rankings in the four judging categories: financial reporting, corporate governance disclosure, electronic disclosure, and sustainable development reporting.

An Award of Excellence was selected in each of the four judging categories and an Honourable Mention was given for financial reporting, electronic disclosure, sustainable development reporting and corporate governance disclosure.

The judging category winners are:

Award of Excellence ? PotashCorp (2012 winner)
Honourable Mention ? Telus Corporation

Award of Excellence ? TD Bank Group
Honourable Mention ? Royal Bank of Canada

Award of Excellence ? Potash
Honourable Mention ? GoldCorp

Award of Excellence ? Suncor Energy Inc. (2012 winner)
Honourable Mention ? TELUS Corporation (2012 winner)

The Overall Award of Excellence for Corporate Reporting was presented to the most outstanding industry winner in 2013: TELUS Corporation.

Congratulations to all of the winners from the Q4 team!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Interesting Articles


Next Gen IR Platform

Learn more